Silence and Weakness – Why Do We Find Them “So Attractive”?

Every girl dreams of that perfect boy she’s going to meet. Cinderella teaches us to look for a “Prince Charming” and Romeo and Juliet gives the desire for a Romeo. But as I really thought about both of these men, I realized different qualities about them that make them extremely unattractive. I would never want these qualities in the man I spend the rest of my life with. I mean, seriously, when do you ever see Prince Charming talk to Cinderella? They never even speak yet somehow fall in love. That’s impossible. Call it love at first sight, or whatever you want, but if I were Prince Charming I would wonder why Cinderella ever fell for me when I never said two words to her! Yes, I’ve never been in a relationship, but even I am aware that communication is key. So please, don’t be a Prince Charming, use your words.

But even worse than Prince Charming is Romeo. Once again, there is the whole “love at first sight” issue. But worse than that, Romeo isn’t even strong enough to continue on in his life when he discovers that Juliet is “dead”. He immediately wants to kill himself for a girl he’s known for like a week! That’s ridiculous. I don’t know about you, ladies, but I want a man strong enough to continue on in his life, if he ever loses me. Yes, I would want him to miss me. But, if I truly loved him, I would want him to move on and have a good life. And if he truly loved me, he would do that. True love is not killing yourself because the one you love is dead. That is being truly pathetic.

So ladies, please, do not lower your standards and go looking for Prince Charming or Romeo. You deserve someone stronger and better than either of those iconic men. You deserve someone who will love talking to you, and who can persevere through tragedy. And guys, do not ever strive to be like Romeo or Prince Charming. If you care about her enough, you’ll use your words, and you’ll press on through everything that comes your way.

I suppose it’s possible that I may be the only girl in the world who feels this way. But if that’s the case then good! You all can have your “Romeos” and “Prince Charmings”. I don’t want them!

~Lily

Leave a comment